Founded 1963 Relaunched 2019. The Postmodern South.

Texas artist Rich O’Toole finally comes to national prominence with the release of his new album Kiss Of A Liar. The album features 11 tracks that seamlessly blend country, pop and rock elements, linked by thoughtful lyrics. There are songs about love, like the duet with Josh Abbott “Ay Dios Mio”, songs about loss (“The Cricket Song”, “Kiss Of A Liar”), songs about gambling (“Casino Queen”) and good times (“Marijuana & Jalapenos”). Perhaps the deepest and most heartfelt song is “Banks of the Mississippi” a seemingly-autobiographical account of a young man running away from poverty to seek a career in music. Like all Average Joe releases, Kiss Of A Liar is fun, tuneful and exquisitely produced. A masterful release from an artist that is only beginning to hit his stride. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.